Whole Body Program

Reg Park Calf Raises

Image by d_vdm via Flickr

I am almost 1 month into my bet with my best friend and we still have 4 to go until judgement day.  For those who are unclear about the bet, here is a recap.  Beginning in January we made a bet to see who could get the most toned and defined by May 31st.  The punishment for the loser has already been set, and will be revealed after the winner has been declared.

Until now I have been making some improvements to my training along the way.  It has been a while since I have lifted really heavy and I am still dealing with an injured shoulder, so for the last bit I have been trying to get back into the swing of things and help my body get prepared for what is to come.  So the workout program that I have been following is a 2 day whole body and 1 day upper, 1 day lower body split.  It is a program that I first found on the web site of Eric Cressey but I have made minor changes to make it more appropriate for me.

The way it would look if you were planning your week is like this:

 Monday-Whole body 3 sets of 4-8 reps

  • Front Squats
  • 1 leg Romanian deadlift
  • dumbbell flat bench press
  • T-bar row
  • Ball side crunches
  • Hanging leg raises

 Tuesday-Rest

 Wednesday-Lower Body 3 sets of 4-8 reps

 Thursday-Upper Body 3 sets of 4-8 reps

   Friday-Rest

Saturday-Whole Body  3 sets of 4-8 reps

 Sunday-Rest

I have recently introduced 3 – 20 minute cardio sessions into my week as well as my weekly hike.

As far as nutrition goes I have been following my tips from previous posts.  Have 3 meals and 2 snacks per day, each consisting of lean protein and vegetables.  I have a protein shake immediately following each workout and depending on my protein intake, I may add an extra one before bed.  I have limited my starchy carb intake to breakfast and my afternoon snack only.  This has made the most difference to my mid section as I have already noticeably leaned out.  This is something I will have to keep an eye on so I don’t lean out too much too quickly.  My energy levels are fine with the limited carbs.  I have been having 3 litres of water per day which is keeping me well hydrated and I have been having my amino acid beverage during each workout. 

Next week I begin a new program focused on building some more lean muscle.  I will be posting about my progress regularly with a copy of the program if you are interested in trying it yourself.

About Lisa

Lisa is a Certified Personal Trainer who is passionate about fitness and living an active lifestyle. She has a strong background in nutrition, having been a Chef for almost 15 years and applies this knowledge to helping her clients achieve their goals.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

