Building Muscle

Standing Barbell Curl exercise for Biceps-->bi...

Image via Wikipedia

 

I was supposed to wait until the first week of February to begin this new program, but after taking a look at my before photo’s I was feeling overwhelmed with the amount of work that I am needing to do in order to win this bet.  So I started my new lifting program on Saturday; only a couple of days earlier than originally planned.  As promised I am  putting it here on my blog.  This is a twelve week program that is designed to build muscle and if I have my timing right will also allow me a few weeks at the end to do any fine tuning and lose any extra weight if needed.  I am not expecting any miracles here as there is a lot of work to do, but considering I have done this before, the plan should work well.

I am listing the first four weeks worth of info now and when I begin the next phase I will post that for you as well.  Here is the breakdown for sets and reps. 

  • Week 1-3 sets of 6-10 reps
  • Week 2-4 sets of 6-10 reps
  • Week 3-5 sets of 6-10 reps
  • Week 4-6 sets of 6-10 reps

Day 1-Back and Trapezius

Day 2 Chest and Shoulders

Day 3-Legs

  • Barbell Front Squats
  • One leg Romanian deadlift
  • Leg Press
  • Lying Leg curls
  • Hack Squats
  • Seated Calf raise
  • Standing Calf raise

Day 4-Arms

Abs-These are the current ab exercises I am doing.  Try incorporating them every 2-3 days into your program.

  • Hanging leg raises
  • Cable crunches
  • Weighted incline sit ups
  • Weighted ab machine
  • Band Twists

As I noticed in my before photos, I was losing weight too quickly.  So I am adding another serving of carbs to my daily meals and hopefully this will help to even things out a little.  With the little body fat that I have, I don’t really need to cut too much more until a couple of months from now.  I am increasing my lean proteins slightly and still eating every 3 hours.  Lots of veggies and legumes, 1 serving of fruit per day, and the occasional cheat meal to keep me on track.  I am still having my amino acid drink during my workouts and I will be adding one more  before my workout as well.  I have also increased my healthy fat intake and started having fish oil capsules with breakfast and dinner.

 I will have the next phase for you in four weeks; in the mean time give this muscle busting workout a try.

About Lisa

Lisa is a Certified Personal Trainer who is passionate about fitness and living an active lifestyle. She has a strong background in nutrition, having been a Chef for almost 15 years and applies this knowledge to helping her clients achieve their goals.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

