Building Muscle Part 2

A soldier (lying down) performs a bench press ...

Image via Wikipedia

So I am currently on my fourth week of my “get toned and defined” program in preparation for the show down with my best friend.  Her and I are definitely training as much and as hard as we can; neither one of us wants to lose this bet!

For those of you who have been doing the program that I posted in the first “Building Muscle” post, I am sure you are finding it as taxing on your body as I am.  I have noticed that I require more rest than with previous workouts, it is taking me much longer to recover, and I am more sore than ever.  That said, with adequate rest and nutrition, I am always ready for a hard workout.

So next week I begin the second part of the program.  It too will last for 4 weeks and the rep range will be slightly different from before.  Also note, you want to perform 3 working sets of the suggested reps.  These sets do not include warm up sets.  Because you want to choose a weight that you be will fatigued at the suggested reps, you need to ensure you are sufficiently warmed up before attempting these programs.

  • Week 1-8 reps/set (3 sets)
  • Week 2-6 reps/set (3 sets)
  • Week 3-4 reps/set (3 sets)
  • Week 4-2 reps/set (3 sets)

Day 1

Day 2

  • Hack squats
  • Romanian Deadlifts
  • Bulgarian split squats
  • Seated calf raises
  • Standing barbel curls
  • Close grip bench press

Day 3

Day 4

Abs

  • Hanging leg raises
  • Front plank
  • Weighted incline sit ups
  • Weighted ab machine
  • Band twists
  • Swiss ball toe roll ins and toe dips

Cardio

  • I am doing 20 minutes of cardio per workout.  I usually do a light run on the treadmill, or ride the stationary bike; but you can include whatever type of cardio you chose.

   Nutrition wise I am still eating starchy carbs at breakfast, and lunch plus 1 piece of fruit per day. With my dinner I am having lean protein and some veggies and /or a hearty salad. I have increased my vegetable intake at my snacks, as I found I was getting too hungry between meals.  (I make sure I am eating every 3 hours.)  I am still having 2 protein shakes per day; one after my workout and one at snack time.  My amino acid drink I am having before and during my workouts.  Fish oil capsules are still being taken at breakfast and at dinner as I find I am in need of some healthy fats.  I am drinking up to 3 litres of water per day as well to make sure I am staying hydrated.

So far I have gained 4 pounds, my waist is getting smaller, my abs are slowly starting to show, and I can see some changes to my physique.  Being a hard gainer my whole life, I am pretty happy with the progress I am making.  Give the program a try for yourself  and let me know how it works for you.

About Lisa

Lisa is a Certified Personal Trainer who is passionate about fitness and living an active lifestyle. She has a strong background in nutrition, having been a Chef for almost 15 years and applies this knowledge to helping her clients achieve their goals.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

