Building Muscle Part 3

Strongmen event: Dumbbell Press

Image via Wikipedia

So I am nearing the end of week 8 on my journey to become as toned and defined as possible by May 31st.  In the first 6 weeks I was noticing a fair bit of improvement, but the past couple of weeks it seems I may have hit a plateau.  I am happily going to change-up my routine for the next 4 weeks and tweak my diet a bit more in the hopes that I will see further growth.  I don’t think I have eaten  as much as my body is needing now, because I am finding that even after my meal I am looking for more food.  My weight has not changed in the past couple of weeks but it seems that my waste is getting smaller.  So the goal over the next week is to increase the amount of food (protein, healthy fats) slightly and leave the carbs where they are at.

Here is the program for the next four weeks.  You will notice the rep range goes up again and almost every exercise is a superset.  The reason for that is to get the greatest amount of blood flow to the muscle and to fatigue it completely.  The program is also designed on a 3 day split with the 4th day as a specialty day.  That day should be used to focus on areas that are lagging behind and need further development.  In my case it is shoulders, calves and arms, but you can set it up to be for whatever you want.

Day 1-Legs and Shoulders

  1. Squats-4 sets of 10 reps
  2. Leg extension-3 sets 12 reps superset with Dumbbell lunges-3 sets of 8 reps/leg
  3. Leg press-4 10 reps
  4. Hamstring curl-4 sets of 10 reps superset with Dumbbell straight leg deadlift-4 sets 10 reps
  5. Standing calf raise-3 sets of 35 reps superset with squat calf raise-3 sets of 35 reps
  6. Dumbbell shoulder press-3 sets of 12 reps
  7. Front and rear barbell press-3 sets of 12 reps
  8. Front and side laterals-3 sets of 12 reps

Day 2-Back and Biceps

  1. Pullups-3 sets of 10 reps superset with reverse grip barbel row-3 sets of 10 reps
  2. Straight arm pull down-3 sets of 10 reps
  3. Seated cable row-4 sets of 10 reps
  4. Hyperextensions-3 sets of 10 reps
  5. Seated incline dumbbell 1/3’s -3 sets of 15 reps
  6. Alternating static dumbbell curl-3 sets of 10 reps
  7. Alternating hammer curl-3 sets of 10 reps

Day 3-Chest and Triceps

  1. dumbbell bench press-4 sets to failure(until you can no longer do any reps with good form)
  2. Incline dumbbell fly-4 sets of 10 reps superset with incline press-4 sets of 10 reps
  3. Dips-3 sets to failure
  4. Lying dumbbell tricep extension-3 sets of 10 reps
  5. Tricep pressdown-3 sets of 10 reps
  6. 1 arm triceps kickback-3 sets of 10 reps/arm

Day 4-Specialization day (Shoulders/arms/calves)

  1. Standing side laterals-3 sets of 10 reps
  2. Incline bench side lying laterals-3 sets of 10 reps
  3. Bent over laterals-3 sets of 10 reps
  4. Seated calf raise-3 sets of 20 reps
  5. Incline leg press calf raise-3 sets of 20 reps
  6. Barbell curl-3 sets of 10 reps superset with triceps bench dip-3 sets of 10 reps
  7. Seated dumbbell curl-3 sets of 10 reps superset with overhead triceps extension-3 sets of 10 reps

The plan is to stay on this routine for 4 weeks and then begin my cutting phase where my focus will shift to bringing out my definition.  As far as my supplements go, I am still having my amino acid drink before and during my workout, my fish oil caps with breakfast and dinner and of course my vitamins everyday.  Immediately after my workout, I am having my protein shake with a quick carb (either a piece of fruit or some carrot sticks or if I am really hungry I will have a cliff bar) and after that a big meal with protein, healthy fats and a bit of carb.  The date of the competition is still 11 weeks away, so I wont really begin to lean out any further until 4 weeks away.

Give this new program a try and let me know how it works for you.

About Lisa

Lisa is a Certified Personal Trainer who is passionate about fitness and living an active lifestyle. She has a strong background in nutrition, having been a Chef for almost 15 years and applies this knowledge to helping her clients achieve their goals.
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

