A Great Read

Full course dinner

Image via Wikipedia

  I get asked a lot what kind of books I like to read and my answer usually has something to do with health and fitness.  So I figured today I could talk a little about the book I am currently reading; The Metabolic Typing Diet by William Wolcott and Trish Fahey. I know what you are thinking, but I assure you it is not another fad diet.  What I love about this book is how it addresses the role your genetics play in your health and how you can help tackle some of those issues with eating correctly.  If you are someone who struggles with weight, or food intolerances, this may be the book for you.  I have tried for 5 years to find the best way of eating for me.  Along the way I have cut certain foods out of my diet due to intolerances, but still not satisfied with how everything has shaped up.  The closest I have gotten to a perfect diet for me, was with the help of a Naturopath.  He gave me a list of foods to avoid, with some good reasons to back it up, and of course a list of foods to eat at free will.  In the beginning it seemed a little restrictive because everything I enjoyed eating was on the do not eat list.  Then after a few days I noticed how good I was feeling.  Since then I have stuck with it off and on and I notice how good  and how lousy I feel; yet I always think that I am able to improve.  Now with the help of The Metabolic Typing Diet, I am able to improve my eating habits further than before and hopefully reap the rewards of it.  I can’t wait to get started!

About Lisa

Lisa is a Certified Personal Trainer who is passionate about fitness and living an active lifestyle. She has a strong background in nutrition, having been a Chef for almost 15 years and applies this knowledge to helping her clients achieve their goals.
This entry was posted in Random Notes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

